Cubs’ NLDS Roster Made Official: Who’s In, Who’s Out?

Ahead of this evening’s NLDS Game 1 against the San Franciso Giants, the Chicago Cubs have announced their official roster.

The only notable subtractions are Matt Szczur and Jason Hammel. The rest is as follows:


Willson Contreras, Miguel Montero, David Ross


Javier Baez, Kris Bryant, Tommy La Stella, Anthony Rizzo, Addison Russell, Ben Zobrist


Albert Almora Jr., Chris Coghlan, Dexter Fowler, Jason Heyward


Jake Arrieta, Jon Lester, John Lackey, Kyle Hendricks


Aroldis Chapman, CJ Edwards, Justin Grimm, Pedro Strop, Mike Montgomery, Hector Rondon, Travis Wood

I think this is pretty much what we expected. The only decision that surprises me is that to leave Matt Szczur off the roster in favor of Albert Almora Jr. But the reason it doesn’t bother me is simple: in Joe we trust. These guys are both right-handed bats, they play the same positions, and, statistically they’re pretty similar. What that tells me is that Joe has seen things from Almora that give him confidence. And if Joe’s confident, damn it so am I! In fact, I’ll say right here: Albert Almora delivers a clutch hit this series. Lock it in.



  1. Reply Post By baby vacuum cleaner toy